Board Members

Board Structure

Per Session Law 2018-146, county boards of elections in North Carolina are composed of five appointed members.  Four members are appointed by the NC State Board of Elections: two Democrats and two Republicans.  The Chair is appointed by the Governor.  The Board is responsible for the administration of Elections and Related Laws and Rules of North Carolina.  The Director, upon recommendation of the Board, is appointed by the State to advise and provide administrative oversight of the elections department. To see additional information on board meetings, please click here.


The Board is responsible for conducting all federal, state, and local elections held within the County and delegated to perform duties as may be prescribed by N.C. General Statutes Chapter 163A, or by the rules, orders, and directives of the State Board of Elections.  The Board appoints all chief judges, judges, assistants, and other officers of elections and is responsible for investigating irregularities, nonperformance of duties, and violations of laws by election officers and other persons.

  • Thomas C. Pollard

    Thomas C. Pollard retired from the City of Wilmington where he held the position of City Attorney for over 26 years. He holds a B.A. with High Distinction from the University of Arizona and both a Masters in City and Regional Planning and a J.D. with Honors from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He is a graduate of New Hanover High School. He previously served on the Board of Directors for the North Carolina League of Municipalities, the Environmental Law Section Council of the North Carolina Bar Association and the Board of the Episcopal Farmworker Ministry. He is a member of the City of Wilmington Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee and a past-president of the North Carolina Association of Municipal Attorneys. Since retirement, his favorite volunteer activity has been reading with students at Snipes Academy of Arts and Design.


  • Jonathan W. Washburn

    Jonathan W. Washburn is a Wilmington native going back numerous generations. Graduate of Davidson College (cum laude 1978) and UNC Law School (Juris Doctor 1982) as well as UNC Business School (Masters in Business Administration 1982). Jonathan has been a practicing attorney in Wilmington since 1982 and has previously served on the New Hanover County Board of Elections a total of 16 years. Jonathan has two daughters, Cameron (graduated UNCW 2014) and Julia (graduated NCSU 2012).



  • Evelyn D. Adger

    Evelyn D. Adger has been a legal assistant/secretary over 24 years. In 2017, she was selected as a Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen of the Lower Cape Fear honoree and recipient of the Phenomenal Woman Award. She is a community activist, bringing people and resources together, and is passionate about creating a social change within her community. Mrs. Bryant also serves on the following boards and committees: Community Relations Advisory Council; YWCA-Lower Cape Fear; LINC, Inc.; SENC MLK Committee; Blue Ribbon Commission; and, Voyage Community Council. She has two beautiful daughters: a 2017 graduate of UNCG and a student at Issac Bear Early College.


  • Derrick R. Miller

    Derrick R. Miller grew up in Winston-Salem. He moved to Wilmington in 2008 after graduating from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, majoring in German at Davidson College, earning his Ph.D. in German literature from UNC Chapel Hill, and teaching at Duke University.  He currently teaches German at UNC Wilmington, chairs the Department of World Languages and Cultures, and serves as a  UNCW elected delegate to the UNC Faculty Assembly. He is a member of St. James Episcopal Church and the treasurer of Stonewall Sports Wilmington.  He has adopted and fostered dogs.  And, as a local activist, he has advocated for the North Carolina State Constitution’s guarantee of free elections.




  • Russ C. Bryan

    Coming Soon.






Board of Elections: 1241-A Military Cutoff Road, Wilmington, NC 28405 • Phone 910-798-7330 • Fax 910-798-7295
Skip to content